Govt strengthens travel bans as COVID-19 crisis deepens

The government has updated its travel bans amid the spread of the coronavirus.

China and Iran remain off-limit countries while travellers to South Korea, Japan, Italy and Mongolia should exercise a high degree of caution.

Health Minister Greg Hunt announced on Wednesday that anyone arriving to Australia from Iran after February 19 was required to self-quarantine for a 14 day period.

Passengers on Virgin Flight 1368 from Melbourne to Launceston on Saturday were also told to self-isolate after it was discovered a 40-year-old man on board the flight recently travelled to Iran and later tested positive to the virus.

Adelaide’s Catholic community has taken serious measures to prevent the spread of coronavirus, banning skin-to-skin contact, drinking from chalices and removing holy water altogether in some churches.

Image: News Corp Australia

Leave a Reply